14 MarWhy do some affiliates use reseller web hosting instead of shared?

confused|multi domain hosting A frequently-asked query:

” My question has to do with affiliate internet marketing. For years I’ve used one shared web hosting account and I create multiple add-on domains on it for all my various sites. I know it’s not a good idea to have all of your domains on one server because search engines can see they all come from the same IP address if you link the sites and if you’re server goes down, all of your sites are down. No site access = no money coming in.

I see that several of the top power affiliates get themselves a reseller hosting account so they can create individual websites rather than add-on domains, but they’re still all on the same IP address and if the server goes down, all the sites will be down.

Reseller hosting is considerably more expensive than shared hosting and I know you can offset the cost by selling accounts and domain names from it, but let’s say you don’t sell to other people.

So what’s the advantage of using reseller hosting instead of shared hosting for affiliate marketing?

Also, yesterday I was looking at some reseller hosting. I need to do some more research, but tell me if something like this is in the ballpark or too expensive. These are just the high level features, but bascially, anything you can do on a shared hosting account, you can do on this so I certainly wouldn’t be losing anything.

.95/mo
cPanel
25 GB diskspace
250 GB data transfer (both of those are far more than I currently use for my 40ish domains)
free eNom to sell domain names

So, why would I want to use a reseller account instead of shared hosting? “

Read more…

04 FebWhy does Yahoo allow answers from videoanswers (dot)net?

A frequently-asked query:

Yahoo would not let me post this question without censor.

Since videoanswers.net requires that you download malicious software, according to www.sitewareadvisor.com, should we "report abuse" when these pop up as being the most amazing site?

Yahoo! Answers malicious spammer site.

They offer an "amazing video" with your answer. Unfortunately, all you will get is a malicious file downloaded onto your system.
Posted at 12/13/2008-04:02:47 PM by ColoradoChris, Experienced Reviewer , View profile [ Reputation score: 9 / 9 ]
Rating: Adware, spyware, or viruses
Avoid this site, it engages in multiple malicious activities including distribution of malware and spamming.

———————————-
Spamming of yahoo answers site with links to this site. Site itself contains apparent videos, and asks you to download codecs to view them, downloads contain malware. Also I would like to note on the front page it has a linked ‘video’ to megasupertubes.com which is blocked by firefox as a reported attack site.
———————————-

Based on content, spamming and associations, this site should be marked as red.

———————————-
Its whois shows it is registered by BIZCN.COM which is a red site: http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/bizcn.com
they are known for hosting spam and scam domains.

It was created recently on November 12, 2008.
Nameservers are
ns1.seohostworld.com
ns2.seohostworld.com
Posted at 12/03/2008-05:52:03 PM by exodus, Reviewer , View profile [ Reputation score: 5 / 9 ]
Rating: Adware, spyware, or viruses
This site has a fake answer to your needs . It tricks you into downloading a codec like ZLOB . The VIRUS will install on your computer after you download it. than after 1-2 mins it will make your computer slow . Sytoms are it wont allow you to go on the internet and if you have FireFOX it will use that to download more bytes of the virus. TO Remove this virus you can use Mcafee,Avast,MalwareByte NOT AVG cause AVG will not do anything. Mozzila Firefox will be still downloading the feed and there is nothing to stop it. You cannnot use Task Manager if you downloaed this codec , it will end up telling you have no rights.
Posted at 11/22/2008-02:49:36 PM by nsyrb, Reviewer , View profile [ Reputation score: 1 / 9 ]
Rating: Adware, spyware, or viruses
Spams yahoo answers, viruses on site
Posted at 11/20/2008-07:16:55 AM by JC, Reviewer , View profile [ Reputation score: 1 / 9 ]
Since my question hit an error when I tried to post it (had to censor it), and all the questions posted to Yahoo have been deleted (google), I have to wonder about this.
This is so suspicious

Read more…

18 JanIs www.nikeairforceonehigh.com a legit website?

A frequently-asked query:

ITS A SCAM!

I PURCHASED SOME SHOES RECEIVED WRONG ONES. I’D EMAIL THEM AND I WOULD NOT GET A RESPONSE. THIS IS WHAT JAKE FROM YAHOO ANSWERS ADVISED ME TO DO: http://ca.answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=Agl.bFyAujukUg07i3Vv8zDAFQx.;_ylv=3?qid=20111125191345AA49Lso
Best Answer – Chosen by Asker

If you don’t manage to track them down you may have to settle for a degree of satisfaction from getting them on various scam reporting sites.

It’s obviously a slapped together that you probably see in hind-site that you should have never dealt with, note the form for the business information was left unedited in the Contact Us page. Any online store with only an email address or contact form on their Contct Us page, wit no address and no phone number should not be trusted, such an anonymous operation can too easily hide. Also notice the footnote describing Airforceone.cc, that may have the previous name it went under. It has all the earmarks of a Chinese knockoff site, just couldn’t find any Asian footprints.

Didn’t see obvious scam reports in a Google search, it is probably too new to have made it onto theses.

That’s a 10 week old site (under it’s current domain reg. run) paying extra to have their domain name registration concealed by a private proxy. It almost takes a court order to get the real owner revealed, still it’s always worth looking up the info, the majority of sneaky Chinese sites will be revealed.

http://www.networksolutions.com/whois-search/nikeairforceonehigh.com

If they are U.S. based you may have more legal recourse.

This appears to be their site hosting company in Chicago, it is in no position to get a refund but might shut them down with multiple complaints.

Abuse Department
+1-866-817-2811
AbuseEmail: abuse@singlehop.com

There are (older?) reports of it being hosted on BLUEHOST INC

Their domain name registrar (GoDaddy.com) might take some action if they receive multiple complaints.

THE FOLLOWING IS INFORMATION ON THIS WEBSITE THAT SCAMMED ME. PLEASE CALL AND COMPLAINT SO THEY CAN SHUT DOWN!!!

nikeairforceonehigh.com
Is this your domain name? Renew it now.

Current Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
IP Address:184.154.90.58 (ARIN & RIPE IP search)
Lock Status: clientDeleteProhibited

The data contained in GoDaddy.com, Inc.’s WhoIs database,
while believed by the company to be reliable, is provided "as is"
with no guarantee or warranties regarding its accuracy. This
information is provided for the sole purpose of assisting you
in obtaining information about domain name registration records.
Any use of this data for any other purpose is expressly forbidden without the prior written
permission of GoDaddy.com, Inc. By submitting an inquiry,
you agree to these terms of usage and limitations of warranty. In particular,
you agree not to use this data to allow, enable, or otherwise make possible,
dissemination or collection of this data, in part or in its entirety, for any
purpose, such as the transmission of unsolicited advertising and
and solicitations of any kind, including spam. You further agree
not to use this data to enable high volume, automated or robotic electronic
processes designed to collect or compile this data for any purpose,
including mining this data for your own personal or commercial purposes.

Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: NIKEAIRFORCEONEHIGH.COM
Created on: 09-Sep-11
Expires on: 09-Sep-12
Last Updated on: 09-Sep-11

Administrative Contact:
Private, Registration NIKEAIRFORCEONEHIGH.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599 Fax — (480) 624-2598

Technical Contact:
Private, Registration NIKEAIRFORCEONEHIGH.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599 Fax — (480) 624-2598

Domain servers in listed order:
NS49.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
NS50.DOMAINCONTROL.COM

Read more…